Monthly Archives: January 2019

Adult Driver Education for Texas

Driver Education Schools teach the basic skills and training required by law to provide the knowledge and hands-on experience to prepare people for their written and practical tests to obtain a driver license and become safe drivers in Texas.

Adult Driver Education

1. Who can take the driver education exclusively for adult course?

Any person who is age 18 to under 25 years of age.

2. How long is the course?

This is a 6-hour classroom instruction course offered by a licensed driver education school.

3. Where can I find a list of licensed driver education schools that offer this course?

You can find a list of schools on the DES Search Tool https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/DESSearch

4. What is this course about?

This course covers alcohol and drug awareness; Texas Traffic Laws; highway signs, signals, and markings that regulate, warn, or direct traffic; and issues commonly associated with motor vehicle accidents, including poor decision-making, risk taking, impaired driving, distraction, speed, failure to use a safety belt, driving at night, failure to yield the right-of-way, and using a wireless communication device while operating a vehicle.

As part of the course, participants must pass the Texas Department of Public Safety Road Signs and Road Rules written examinations. Persons successfully completing the exams at the school do not have to take them again at DPS.

5. I’m 19 years old and want to get my driver’s license. I was told that I might have to take a class.

On March 1, 2010, Texas law changed to require persons from 18 to under 25 years of age who wish to obtain a driver’s license to successfully complete a 6-hour driver education course exclusively for adults.

6. Can a 17-year-old enroll in a driver education course exclusively for adults?

No, a person must be at least 18 years old to enroll in the course.

7. Can I take a 6-hour Driving Safety or a 6-Hour Drug and Alcohol Awareness course to get my driver license?

No, these courses are court ordered courses for an offence they may not be used to obtain a driver license.

8. How much does the course cost?

Each driver education school establishes a fee schedule for the costs of their courses. Please contact the schools in your area for prices.

9. Once I complete the course will I be issued a certificate?

Yes, once you have successfully completed the course the driver education school will provide you with your completion certificate (ADE-1317). Get Started 

 

New Jersey Defensive Driving Course

New Jersey Defensive Driving Course

The defensive driving course is a voluntary course in the state of New Jersey. If you received a notice in the mail from the MVC giving you an option to take a Driver Improvement Program, or a notice to take the Probationary Driver Program, please read above content under Remedial Driver Programs for details.

Most road accidents are caused by driver error. To reduce the likelihood of being involved in an accident you need to understand the concept of “defensive driving.” This course will provide you with standard accident-preventing techniques.

Upon completion of the defensive driving course:

  • Two points may be removed* from the accumulated points you currently have on your license. *IMPORTANT NOTE: Point credits for State-approved, New Jersey defensive driving course curriculum only. Check with course providers before registering. You may only receive a two point reduction once every 5 years and only if there are points on your driving record at the time you complete the course.
  • You may also qualify for an insurance rate reduction (contact your insurance agent for more information).

To get started with your New Jersey Defensive course please click here.

See a list of State-approved classroom and online defensive driving courses below.